Don't Curse the Nurse!

Sharing support with stories & humor

“Doc, Are You Running Behind”

on February 22, 2013

My Official Journal of the Society of Gastroenterology Nurse and Associates, Inc came in the mail yesterday. It always makes me feel so smart with its soft script title and pearl blue background. I even pick an article and read through it in its entirety. This month’s volume had two articles that stood out not due to the unique perspective on nursing management or applicable findings post research, but due to the lack of substance and the fluffy abstract statements.  One study was on the gender differences when using music during colonoscopies and the other a historical analysis of the changing role of nurses due to changes in management of Crohn’s disease.

I raised my eyebrow at the music one, I co-wrote a paper on the same principle twelve years ago; now there is Propofol and once it hits the red blood cells, the patient is happy whether we play Barry Manilow or Led Zeppelin on the radio stream. The study on the nurses’ role in Crohn’s, it had had seventy listed references. That’s a lot. I focused more attention on the study about Crohn’s , but had to get half-way through before I found direct references to how treatment changes impacted nursing’s role. My mood got sour when I noticed there was more deference to Ostomy nurses.

I should have picked the study on Clostridium difficile ,  Aortobronchial fistula’s or Hepatitis C management. Physicians will voice their opinion about the music and we don’t always get to play the Top 40 hits.Hepatitis C management is more of a teaching opportunity for everyone. Near the back of the journal there is an article of famous colonoscopy quotes. I put the most played out one as the title tonight.

Just curious, for your colonoscopy, what would you like playing in the background? We’ll do our best to accommodate when you visit!


5 responses to ““Doc, Are You Running Behind”

  1. Mary K Swanson says:

    As a sometime journalist, I think most magazines are devolving into fluff. Twenty years ago, my father sneered at Scientific American for having cute articles on mathematical games rather than in-depth material about discoveries in math and science. Considering how little material is seeing print these days with the collapse of publishing houses, bookstores and print news outlets, I don’t know why what’s left is aimed at casual readers.

    (Congrats on the new blog, Susan!)

  2. b4thirty8 says:

    Thanks Mary K ! Twenty years ago and still a young nurse, I might have only been up to reading fluff after a work day. Now I want to be a little more challenged. (My brother-in-law, a scientist and lover of mathematics, will appreciate your reference point.)

  3. You have an interesting blog, Susan. Lot’s to learn from the variety of topics. Lot of catching up to do. 🙂 Will go through your blog chronologically so I won’t miss reading them.

    • Susan says:

      You are so kind. It’s on the light side as far as topics go – often anecdotal in nature. HIPPA and a desire to not use the blog as a ‘whining’ site sometimes hinders my creativity.

      • I can understand, in medical profession and Law, one has to move around the ambit of laws and directions. But I am sure I will find lots of interesting things to read about and you must have found a way of expressing through your writings so as not to curb your creativity.

Leave a Reply

Down the Rabbit Hole with Shannon

A Photographic and Historical Travel Blog

The Ploughshares Blog

Sharing support with stories & humor

The Divergent Grad Nurse

Graduate Nursing Journey

world of feelings

A small attempt to express beauty of thoughts through writing 😊

Tales from Nursing and Life!

We can conquer nurse burnout!

Insomniac Writer!!!

Poems and Stories about everything that is life...and sometimes everything is what it takes to find a better you.

Buffalo Tom Peabody's Blog 1

The 9 lives of Buffalo Tom Peabody.

