Don't Curse the Nurse!

Sharing support with stories & humor

This Nurse’s Thanksgiving Prayer

on November 26, 2013

Lord, as I walk into the hospital, I want to thank you for setting it up so that I can clock out at the end of the day. I don’t have to sleep here, scratch at the IV in my arm, and wonder why I’m woken every four hours.

Thank you for the coworkers that make me laugh, look the other way when I want to cry alone, and take the high road when it’s an unpleasant dirt road to walk.

During the work day, thank you for presenting me with family members that treat each other horribly. My sisters, although far from me and with lives so different than mine, have always treated me with respect.

Thank you for the sixty and seventy year olds that rolled into our department this week in wheelchairs and beds.  My parents are older. I need to maintain my awe. In the morning, they’ll drive to the gym after volunteering with rowdy kindergartners and keep going until late in the evening.

And Lord, thank you for prompting my daughter to call me when she got home from work today. It means no one T-boned her at the 408 exit ramp. She is doing more that lying supine breathing out of a tracheostomy. She is thriving.

My home is small and my car is getting old, but every day my eyes opened wider to all the gifts before me.

I know you’ll bring me trials. You’ve done it before.

I just wanted to say…

Thank you for the break.


4 responses to “This Nurse’s Thanksgiving Prayer

  1. Awesomely done! Sometimes we have to reflect on the hardships to appreciate our blessings! Thanks for that reminder!

  2. Susan says:

    Erika, having you as a coworker is one of those blessings! Working in “The Pit” today was just a little easier because you’re an outstanding nurse !

  3. Kassie says:

    This is a fantastic message!

Leave a Reply

The Divergent Grad Nurse

Graduate Nursing Journey

world of feelings

A small attempt to express beauty of thoughts through writing 😊

Tales from Nursing and Life!

Welcome to the crazy world of Nursing!

Insomniac Writer!!!

Poems and Stories about everything that is life...and sometimes everything is what it takes to find a better you.

Buffalo Tom Peabody's Blog 1

The 9 lives of Buffalo Tom Peabody.

The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

Apricity All The Way

Living through art. Art-ing through life.

