Don't Curse the Nurse!

Sharing support with stories & humor

We call this a blackout…or…Old story worth repeating

on December 10, 2013

“You’re what?” She jumped from topic to topic and it was hard for me to follow her.

She reached up with her hand and curled the pillow edge under her head. “I am an intuitive.”

“What’s that?” I was busy, but I was more curious than busy. So, I took my time taping her IV while she talked.

“I am able to diagnose what my friends and family’s health problems are.”

“Oh.” My superego was ready to kick in. This patient could potentially cause real harm to a friend that might think too highly of the advice from someone who bragged to me about her five months training at massage school. I felt a responsibility to chastise her. Just listen. That’s what they tell us in nursing school. Be supportive.

“Well, I hear the doctor’s voice down the hall. You’re next. It will only take twenty minutes tops.”

She gave me a smug smile then said, “It will be ten minutes. I know the problem is in my left colon.”

I know the statistics about colon cancer. My response was gentle. “You put yourself through an unpleasant prep. He’ll check your entire large intestine to be on the safe side.”

She shook her head at me and said tartly as the procedure room nurses approached her bed, “I am so sure of myself, I only took half the prep.”

She was the last patient in a very long day and about to be seen by a doctor who’d not taken a break in seven hours.

My intuition told me he was going to be pretty unhappy when he got into the sigmoid colon.

 


One response to “We call this a blackout…or…Old story worth repeating

  1. Nancy Riley says:

    I love this one.

Leave a Reply

The Divergent Grad Nurse

Graduate Nursing Journey

world of feelings

A small attempt to express beauty of thoughts through writing 😊

Tales from Nursing and Life!

Welcome to the crazy world of Nursing!

Insomniac Writer!!!

Poems and Stories about everything that is life...and sometimes everything is what it takes to find a better you.

Buffalo Tom Peabody's Blog 1

The 9 lives of Buffalo Tom Peabody.

The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

Apricity All The Way

Living through art. Art-ing through life.

