Don't Curse the Nurse!

Sharing support with stories & humor

He Called Us Nurses Angels

on December 17, 2013

“How much they hate doctors.” He said it matter of fact and I turned to give a hurt look to the anesthesiologist at my right.

“Sorry, just kidding. It would attract readers to your site, right?”

I got that he was trying to be helpful, but, Christmas is coming and I didn’t want to write some snarky blog promoting the myth that nurses hate all doctors. I shared my only idea.

“I was thinking about doing something informative about Hashimoto’s thyroiditis. As soon as I said it out loud, it felt wrong. I didn’t have to deal with the weight of the world, just a poorly wired thyroid gland and chronic fatigue.

“Susan, I know what you should write about.”

Now I was going to get an opinion from the surgeon standing across from me. He had a Fu Manchu moustache and an impeccable reputation.

“What?” I was surprised he joined in.

“How you nurses are angels.”

He had my full attention. I listened as he continued.

“My mom was in the hospital not long ago, and like usual, I didn’t tell anyone I was a physician…some people get intimidated. Now, I gotta tell you, those nurses, they spent so much time with my mom, taking incredible care of her. They were real gentle with her.”

The conversation was feeling a little surreal to me and the dimmed lights in the room didn’t help. Give the surgeon a white robe and the equipment in his hand might have looked like a tablet to me. I blinked a couple of times when he paused.

“Really, you nurses are special.” All I could do was nod, say thanks, and agree that the post should be one appropriate for the nature of the season.

I am paying it forward

***Merry Christmas***

 


Leave a Reply

The Divergent Grad Nurse

Graduate Nursing Journey

world of feelings

A small attempt to express beauty of thoughts through writing 😊

Tales from Nursing and Life!

Welcome to the crazy world of Nursing!

Insomniac Writer!!!

Poems and Stories about everything that is life...and sometimes everything is what it takes to find a better you.

Buffalo Tom Peabody's Blog 1

The 9 lives of Buffalo Tom Peabody.

The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

Apricity All The Way

Living through art. Art-ing through life.

