Don't Curse the Nurse!

Sharing support with stories & humor

The Most Important Post of My Life

on October 8, 2014

They say most accidents happen within two miles from home and they are right. I was close to home, but I was safe — three car lengths from the intersection and sitting inside two thousand pounds of sculpted metal. In front of me on the other side of the road, several shadowing figures stood in a circle. The light overhead made them look almost angelic.

With my car wedged in front, back, and to the left side by a median, the first thirty seconds were spent hollering at the cluster twenty yards from me.

I wanted to know was if the dark figure on the ground was breathing. The first person that turned said, “It’s too late.”

The crowd parted for a moment and I could see that it was a child, six, maybe seven.

Then I rolled my window down, and with my hand squeezing the door handle, started yelling like an idiot to anyone that passed me. The first person confirmed that 911 had been called. A female jogger slowed as she passed me and said that she’d checked — “the little girl was breathing”.

It left me reticent to get out of my car — people need to move their vehicles and not rubber neck at accident scenes. I had a flash of anger. I wanted to help, but, this is not about me. This post is about doing something, not just standing around watching. Thankfully less than a minute after the jogger passed, I saw the flashing lights of an emergency vehicle coming from the opposite direction and, in the distance behind me, a second one.

The street light had gone to red then back to green again.

As I passed, I saw the little girl curled on her side and couldn’t help but notice that she was oddly still. A man in his late thirties, maybe her father, was kneeling beside her, his hand on her shoulder, an anxious look on his face. Two teens plus an older woman stood close, eyes down, hugging themselves. Two heartbeats later, I’m crying.

TAKE A CPR CLASS !!

YES, THIS BEING IN CAPS MEANS I AM YELLING!

TAKE A CLASS IN BASIC CPR!

MAKE IT A GROUP THING!

GO WITH FRIENDS!

Seriously, if they are not breathing, you can’t make it any worse. It can only get better. Don’t be one of those people intrigued by the oddity of witnessing someone dangling between our world and the other. It could be you or someone you love who leaves early because no one had inkling what to do.

If you are struggling to come up with a reason to take a CPR class, here’s one: OM at aopinionatedman.com is fearless in pointing out how selfish we all are as humans, so …do it for you, do it because you could be a hero to someone, or someone’s family, or just in your own head because that’s where it matters to you.


8 responses to “The Most Important Post of My Life

  1. Victo Dolore says:

    They should make comedy CPR classes, like defensive driving… More people would go.

  2. b4thirty8 says:

    But if I recall correctly, you have a child. You would run out of the bathroom with your pants around your ankles if you thought a young person was in need of serious medical attention.

  3. mikah257 says:

    My mom saved a man who was in a car accident. His little daughter was there… that little girl still had a father because of my mom and a CPR class. This was in the 60s, when few people knew CPR. She had only learned three weeks before, and she has never needed it again.

    • b4thirty8 says:

      Good for her – all it takes is to need it just once to make a difference. From what you’ve told about your family, I’m not surprised that she knew what to do.

  4. Beth says:

    Real nurses, have a hard life, while the others just sit and paint their fingernails while they are clocked on. Nurses see death and suffering around them every day of the world. One nurse friend of mine got really hardened to it all, and when I commented about that she defended herself by saying she had to or be destroyed.

    My daughter and her daughter are nurses. They are not hardened, but they cry a lot. They cry for the calloused hospital staff that fails to respond the way they should. They cry for the accidents and the neglect they see everywhere. They cry for little girls and old people too.

    I am so glad you are able to blog about what you see. My prayers are for your continued good health and long life of service.

    • b4thirty8 says:

      I get a respectable number of views to my posts, but rarely comments. Yours here is a jem; so greatly appreciated, you can’t imagine how much.. Thank you ! This was a beautiful way to start the day!

Leave a Reply

The Divergent Grad Nurse

Graduate Nursing Journey

world of feelings

A small attempt to express beauty of thoughts through writing 😊

Tales from Nursing and Life!

Welcome to the crazy world of Nursing!

Insomniac Writer!!!

Poems and Stories about everything that is life...and sometimes everything is what it takes to find a better you.

Buffalo Tom Peabody's Blog 1

The 9 lives of Buffalo Tom Peabody.

The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

Apricity All The Way

Living through art. Art-ing through life.

