Don't Curse the Nurse!

Sharing support with stories & humor

Whatever

on November 3, 2014

I’ll do whatever it takes.

If you bow forward when I meet you, I too will bend at the waist and drop my eyes. A firm handshake, I’ll give one right back. You want to talk about your family, drop your clothes before I can get back behind the curtain, tell me how much you hate doctors and hospitals — I’ll listen, try not to act surprised by the strip tease, and bite my lip.

If you check my nails as I stand in front of you and don gloves before starting your IV, that’s okay. I get it. Hospitals are the easiest place to get infections.

You make crude jokes and openly flirt in a way that’s and inch away from being uncomfortable, I can take it. I know that the anesthesiology guys are close by.

I’m not paid to be me. I disappear when I clock in and reappear at 2:45 when I clock out.

It took a long time to accept the necessity of this, but now it’s comforting. The essence of me is on standby while the patients take front at center. I only have to let out the parts of me that that specific patient needs. There are probably hundreds of nurses that would read this and say “Wow , what a wimp” or “This is B*$*#s!*”, but this is what I think; when you are sick enough to end up in the hospital, shouldn’t it be all about you. Yes, I have blogged about  a few patient experiences that I found unpleasant. That’s part of why I blog. This is my venting place.

I have also blogged about my experience of having a front row seat while someone else goes through probably the most difficult time of their life. I do my best to be respectful of sharing these scenes that sometimes play out in front of me. It is the least  I can do. I get to practice sharing, writing, and making permanent memories that impact me in a grown up kind of way.

All I know is that I don’t care about being different, I want to make a difference, even if it is just a little one.


3 responses to “Whatever

  1. Victo Dolore says:

    I love this so much! Done right, caregiving is a lot about letting your real self go and reflecting instead exactly what the patient needs. That is diverse. It is difficult. But it is fun, too!

  2. Christy says:

    Beautiful description of emptying ourselves to serve another. You are an amazing nurse as well as an amazing woman. I would hope that if I ever end up in a hospital it is under your care.

Leave a Reply

LifeEventsObservation

Cause every word matters.

Noble Doubt

a Serial Publication by Rosemary Castevet

The Diary Of A Muslim Girl

Dare ◦ To ◦ Live ◦ Your ◦ Legacy

Mostly Blogging

Practical solutions and established strategies to improve your blog. Suggestions that will make a difference.

Writing Dreamer

words and images by mk swanson

Multiple experienceS

a day in the life with multiple sclerosis

witty -> AyJ

Being Humorous

Embracing Authenticity

"Don't be ashamed of your story it will inspire others!"

deconstructingdoctor.com

a peek behind the curtain

