Don't Curse the Nurse!

Sharing support with stories & humor

Day #2 of NaBloPoMo – Eenie Meenie Miney Moe, Catch a doctor by the toe.

on November 4, 2014

I was twenty feet away. My patient was ready. There was my doctor. I only knew that because she was making a beeline to Bay 7 (my bay). By the time I reached them, she was discussing post-op medications with the patient. Being the snazzy nurse that I am, I asked her, “Would you like a script pad to write those out?”

She gave me a look of genuine appreciation. “Why yes, that would be great!”

I pulled enough for each mentioned medicine and went on to check on another patient.

Only two minutes later, there’s the OR nurse at my bay. Great! Moving people out here! I approach with a smile. The OR nurse only gives me a perplexed look.

“Susan, you don’t have the H&P signed. Where is the doctor?”

She was not at the OR desk area. I didn’t find her in the changing room. She was not on the OB unit.

I called the nursery. A very kind nurse gave me this physicians cell phone number.

I owe a nurse some Starbucks.


7 responses to “Day #2 of NaBloPoMo – Eenie Meenie Miney Moe, Catch a doctor by the toe.

  1. swo8 says:

    Reminds me of the good old days. You mean doctors still don’t sign their orders?
    Leslie

    • b4thirty8 says:

      There’s like six pages that need to be flagged: the surgery consent, the blood consent, confirmation on the order page, the H&P …it’s so embarrassing to have to ask!

  2. Victo Dolore says:

    We are slippery…. Sorry.

  3. Victo Dolore says:

    And may I say you ROCK with the prescription pad?!??!?

Leave a Reply

Down the Rabbit Hole with Shannon

A Photographic and Historical Travel Blog

The Ploughshares Blog

Sharing support with stories & humor

The Divergent Grad Nurse

Graduate Nursing Journey

world of feelings

A small attempt to express beauty of thoughts through writing 😊

Tales from Nursing and Life!

We can conquer nurse burnout!

Insomniac Writer!!!

Poems and Stories about everything that is life...and sometimes everything is what it takes to find a better you.

Buffalo Tom Peabody's Blog 1

The 9 lives of Buffalo Tom Peabody.

