Don't Curse the Nurse!

Sharing support with stories & humor

The House

on November 13, 2014

Today felt unusually long because I went in later than usual and before leaving I could see from the windows that it was dark out. I was so frustrate by it. It’s Thursday – dinner with Mom and Dad night. Even going in later, I should have been over by 6:00 pm at the latest. I started to get angry. It’s Thursday, dammit.

Then I made it to the baloney area of the second floor. From where I stood, I could look out the large glass window into the violet shaded evening with outlines of business buildings in the distance. Below me stood our gigantic atrium palm, the coffee shop, and the winding stairway that leads to the cafeteria. The engineers use incandescent bulbs downstairs in the public area, so the lights shine a soft yellow and look like miniature moons .

I turned toward the east hallway, and as I started walking, there was a feeling that I can only describe as enticing. I mean, I was exhausted. I needed to leave. But something felt good that I couldn’t  put my finger on.

House

Not the T.V show, the word, or more specifically, “The House”, the inside reference by employees when talking about various things related to the entire establishment, not just one unit or department.

When everyone is starting to head off to sleep, or even think about it, and the lights dim, it does feel like a home. Corny, yeah, maybe, but when there is clattering all day and people bustling around with a sense of urgency that adds tension to the air, a quiet house feels good.

A whole bunch of sleeping people under one roof feels a little like family.


2 responses to “The House

  1. I know exactly what you mean! sometimes I would sit at the ‘hub’ of the theatre complex after a particularly late finish (usually after midnight). Everything is so quiet compared to the day time and yet those long corridors of the operating theatres and the operating rooms feel like home. Does this mean both of us need to get a life?!?! 😛

Leave a Reply

Down the Rabbit Hole with Shannon

A Photographic and Historical Travel Blog

The Ploughshares Blog

Sharing support with stories & humor

The Divergent Grad Nurse

Graduate Nursing Journey

world of feelings

A small attempt to express beauty of thoughts through writing 😊

Tales from Nursing and Life!

We can conquer nurse burnout!

Insomniac Writer!!!

Poems and Stories about everything that is life...and sometimes everything is what it takes to find a better you.

Buffalo Tom Peabody's Blog 1

The 9 lives of Buffalo Tom Peabody.

