Don't Curse the Nurse!

Sharing support with stories & humor

Cue Music From “Superman II”

on December 8, 2014

flying nurseThree months ago she came to visit- cute little thing – really felt for her – Sickle Cell Anemia for fifteen years – looked twenty-one, was thirty- six and wearing out fast.

I checked on her every half hour for the two units of packed red blood cells she was getting – talked to her – commented on her cute earrings- brought her lunch. Six hours. No problems. Then we heard a noise from her bay in the corner and went running. A seizure.

Here’s where I go soft. Seeing someone on the ground seizing is like seeing a person’s soul fighting to get out. Muscles tighten and relax. Eyes fight to find center and refocus. Her arms went up and down, bent at the elbows as if she was trying to outrun the misfiring synapses in her brain. With her IV pole and a tangled mess of tubing, saline, and blood bag, the scene looked just awful. Then, when she came out of it, she  wanted out.  She wanted to get up and walk, move around – told us “my blood is done…I want to go home now.” Getting her back to bed was no small task

Today she was back. Um, hmm – it happened again. Although this time, I saw it coming and ran to her bedside fast enough to push her food tray away and pull the side rail up. The rail had been put down so she could eat. (At only 5’3, the tray, over the side rail, was up so high that her food was at her chin). Another nurse came by and we stayed, stood as quiet as we could, said her name occasionally, held on as lightly as we could.

Within ten minutes she was back. In twenty minutes she was dozing off. In thirty, she was watching old “Heat of the Night” shows.

And I went home feeling good that I got there on time.

Kudos to my Mom for teaching me the value of getting there on time 🙂


8 responses to “Cue Music From “Superman II”

  1. mikah257 says:

    Beautiful and sad. Love your line, “Soul fighting to get out.”

  2. Victo Dolore says:

    Brilliant description of a seizure. 🙂

  3. Nice. How did you know the siezure was coming?

    • b4thirty8 says:

      When I was walking past her to the next bay, out of the corner of my eye I saw her make this weird movement with her left hand , as if she was waving to someone on the wall mounted T.V.
      It was the quickest turn on my heels I’ve ever made.

  4. Seizures are horrible to watch. For some reason, I always pull the curtains and make sure they have privacy because if I was having seizure I wouldn’t want anyone I know seeing me like that.

    • b4thirty8 says:

      Fortunately , she was in a bay on the corner and it was after noon when most surgical cases had already left our area. Before she left, she told her sister that she had “passed out”. ( Her sister knew the history) . I told her that passing out is what you do after too much drinking 🙂

  5. Nancy Riley says:

    I think this is your most creative blog title ever.

Leave a Reply

SeventhRay 2035

Life, the Universe and Yourself

Salt & Coconuts

Adventure - Photography - Travel

Beth's Smilin' Vibes

Keepin' it fun, real and positive!

Diary of a Nursing Student

Hoping to share tips, advice, and experiences with my fellow nursing students!

The Godly Chic Diaries

Smiling • Writing • Dreaming

Down the Rabbit Hole with Shannon

A Photographic and Historical Travel Blog

The Ploughshares Blog

Sharing support with stories & humor

