Don't Curse the Nurse!

Sharing support with stories & humor

Outwitted them again!

on December 23, 2014

Outwitted Then Again!

I heard them on my way back from lunch, “Dashing through the snow, in a one horse…”, so I turned sharply to my left and took the stairs. With a bum leg from what, I don’t know, I plodded up a flight to the first floor and turned left. It was imperative that I avoided them — the holiday carolers.

They were a rowdy bunch, prone to pull a nurse or two into the center of their traveling circus and close in ranks until you have walked (and sung ) in front of nurses and patients from at least two units.

Sharp pain from my hip to my ankle forced me to stop at the elevator for the next flight up.

It was taking forever. And here they came. They must have taken the south elevator! And they were moving quick!

I walked in a direction I knew they wouldn’t go – radiology.

These people were boisterous, but they weren’t gowned in lead aprons. I was out of danger for a moment. While there I learned there were no Interventional cases being done tomorrow. Yay! (I have to help Ultrasound once in a while.)

It looked safe, or should I say sounded safe, in the hallway, so I made a U-turn back to the elevator and got off on the second floor.

I was down the long hallway and had just made a right at the dead end when lo and behold, there they were, coming at me and there was nowhere for me to turn. “Jingle Bells, Jingle Bells, Jingle all the …” The group filled the hallway and moved in my direction like a tidal wave.

They were twenty yards away, then fifteen, then ten, their eyes widening, their smiles getting bigger.

I stretched my arm out toward the silver button on the wall and lengthened my stride. It was going to be close, but I was determined. I did not want to sing. I reached to door button just as a hatted singer pointed a finger at me and let out a chuckle.

Click

The door to pre-op opened and it was slivers from being closed when they passed.

The last verse I heard was “You better watch out, you better…”

Whew.

The holidays are always so exciting!


12 responses to “Outwitted them again!

  1. Victo Dolore says:

    Totally understand. Bah Humbug.

  2. Elaine VonRosenstiel says:

    And here I thought you were going to join in at the last minute! ho ho ho

  3. Beth says:

    There are times when the Christmas spirit takes on another “spirit.” If you don’t think so, try taking a parking place someone thought they might get first. The driver will curse you to a fare you well.

    • Susan says:

      The Christmas spirit is kind of a year round thing for me. The singing, it’s enjoyable to hear it in the hallways, however…I just so love the one of one contact with patients that I don’t want to divert from that! Evening socials with coworkers this season have been wonderful opportunities to connect with peers.

  4. The carol singers sound deadly 🙂

  5. The few times I have carolers singing in front of me it was awkward as hell. Eye contact? No eye contact? What do I do with my hands? Argh!

  6. Shannon says:

    LOLOLOLOLOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. writerinsoul says:

    Bravo! Well played. “Now everybody join in! Joy to the…”

Leave a Reply

Down the Rabbit Hole with Shannon

A Photographic and Historical Travel Blog

The Ploughshares Blog

Sharing support with stories & humor

The Divergent Grad Nurse

Graduate Nursing Journey

world of feelings

A small attempt to express beauty of thoughts through writing 😊

Tales from Nursing and Life!

We can conquer nurse burnout!

Insomniac Writer!!!

Poems and Stories about everything that is life...and sometimes everything is what it takes to find a better you.

Buffalo Tom Peabody's Blog 1

The 9 lives of Buffalo Tom Peabody.

