Don't Curse the Nurse!

Sharing support with stories & humor

The Unappreciated Day After

on January 1, 2015

Today is my day of celebration.

The 31st of December, just another day.

I didn’t go to any parties, get drunk, make resolutions. Especially this year.

I took my Lodine, Robaxin, Flecainide, Magnesium, Multivitamin, Vitamin D, and watched a few episodes of Scandal while having an internal debate of whether it was important to write a New Year’s Eve post. I decided not. 2014 is over. Not that there weren’t any high points, there were, but there were low points also, so the two sort of cancel each other out.

My family also had a not so pleasant 2014. It’s amusing to write that last sentence. We are all so different; different in geography, spiritual beliefs, lifestyles, and more, but we have in common what 2014 was like; yucky. Oh, I’m sugar coating as usual. It was rough. And when I say that, I mean my cardiac ablation was easy compared to the pain and frustration my family dealt with last year.

Today is the celebration.

Because we are still here.

Someone special told me not long ago that we are aging no matter whether we do anything or not (I’m paraphrasing), so why not keep leaning into dreams and ideas that we want to come to fruition. It’s cliché but true, the journey is what’s important.

Measuring how fast you get to the end is crazy.


8 responses to “The Unappreciated Day After

  1. mikah257 says:

    The best part about the new year is sometimes just disconnecting from the pain and difficulty of the old year. May you leave it all behind you!

  2. Susan says:

    Disconnecting – perfect word, MK !
    It wasn’t a total bummer, some really special time with my family. It just won’t ever make it to the “Top Ten” in retrospect.
    Thrilled to hear from you! A very nice way to start 2015!

  3. Elaine VonRosenstiel says:

    Keep leaning into those dreams!

  4. Sachi says:

    Happy New Year!! I could definitely relate to this as 2014 was not so pleasant for me, too! Hoping 2015 would be kinder and better!

Leave a Reply

SeventhRay 2035

Life, the Universe and Yourself

Salt & Coconuts

Adventure - Photography - Travel

Beth's Smilin' Vibes

Keepin' it fun, real and positive!

Diary of a Nursing Student

Hoping to share tips, advice, and experiences with my fellow nursing students!

The Godly Chic Diaries

Smiling • Writing • Dreaming

Down the Rabbit Hole with Shannon

A Photographic and Historical Travel Blog

The Ploughshares Blog

Sharing support with stories & humor

