Don't Curse the Nurse!

Sharing support with stories & humor

The Honeymoon is Over

on February 17, 2015

rings

The honeymoon is over.

Like the couple who has reached the six month mark — each party starting to add stuff to the mental checklist of habits they find annoying, I’m doing the same with my job.

Don’t get me wrong, it was a great transfer, much needed. There is ten times more diversity in my current role.  It’s just that the job, like the gigantic wedding cake, tasted sooooooo good at first, but after you’ve had three pieces and leftovers, the thrill factor takes a vacation.

I know which doctors bring their H&P’s the morning of surgery – which ones use the dictation system only forty minutes earlier and give me the stink eye when it’s not on the chart. I know which nurses avoid picking up post-op patients, which OR teams get along —which ones only tolerate each other. I know which pharmacy tech doesn’t need a faxed order to fill our supply of Ancef syringes, which one needs to be reminded that we go through thirty syringes a day.

The ballet of preparing a patient who’s about to have a total knee or hip replacement, I’ve got it down pat. The Tramadol/Lyrica/Celebrex cocktail on one certain surgeon’s order sheet — I’m holding the pill cup in my left hand and with my right, putting a big “yes” on the affected joint. And while I’m that close to the patient, I’m checking to see just where I want to put that IV.

I’m not the new girl anymore (ah, it was such a sweet thing to fall back) but now I have to do the grown up thing and strengthen my commitment to my new family and my new home. I am going to start by deciding which battles I want to get involved in, or as my Dad would say, “Decide which mountain you want to die on.” I’m also going to find out exactly why our silly little hospital has farmed out the dictation services to a business in another time zone. The people here that don’t get along, it’ll be fun blogging material.

I didn’t make the change with the expectation that the job would be better.  I made the change thinking that the job would make me a better nurse.

So far, so good.


3 responses to “The Honeymoon is Over

  1. Victo Dolore says:

    I love the fact that you picked a realistic goal! And I love, love, love the wedding cake analogy!

  2. DM says:

    thanks for the peek into “Realville” where you work. Never heard that analogy your dad used but I like it…”decide which mountain you want to die on.” ..sidenote, noticed the books you are reading list on the sidebar..tell me about Orphan Train…We have a couple of local stories of people who came West (to Iowa) via the Orphan train…That would have been hard.

    • Susan says:

      Oh, wow, well here’s a brief , very brief synopsis of Orphan train: A 17 y/o foster child (girl), does volunteer work for a eighty-something reclusive woman who lives in a big house that needs “cleaning out”. Yes, the older woman was an “Orphan train” kid and the author does a good job building the tension before the two become friends and the truth of the elder’s history comes to light. People who have lived through this might think it is a little sugar coated because the focus is the relationship between the two. The story has everything you need in it. I was surprised at how much I enjoyed it! But, I should have known, a coworker I really admire encouraged me to read it : )

Leave a Reply

Down the Rabbit Hole with Shannon

A Photographic and Historical Travel Blog

The Ploughshares Blog

Sharing support with stories & humor

The Divergent Grad Nurse

Graduate Nursing Journey

world of feelings

A small attempt to express beauty of thoughts through writing 😊

Tales from Nursing and Life!

We can conquer nurse burnout!

Insomniac Writer!!!

Poems and Stories about everything that is life...and sometimes everything is what it takes to find a better you.

Buffalo Tom Peabody's Blog 1

The 9 lives of Buffalo Tom Peabody.

