Don't Curse the Nurse!

Sharing support with stories & humor

Sweet Nothings

on March 5, 2015

love

I have the ballet of maneuvering around these pre-op cubicles figured out.

Take three steps back, the third being to the right; it’s kind of a waltz, while taking the wall mounted computer tray with me. Then I swing back to my right as the surgery team takes my patient, in bed of course, feet first, toward the OR suites.

“You’ll do great Mr. Doe. You’ve prepared well for this surgery.” I leaned in to give him his Versed (think Valium in a wine glass).

“I love you,” he said wide eyed.

I feelmy face get warm.

Then I notice his wife standing behind my left shoulder.

Ugghh.

I know, I know.

I thought I had a big save when I turned to the wife and giggled, “They normally say that to me.”

My coworkers had fun with it the rest of the day.


3 responses to “Sweet Nothings

  1. Victo Dolore says:

    Ha! I told the nurse anesthetist that I loved him after he did the epidural with my first child. Pain/anxiety control can be a beautiful, very emotional thing…

  2. DM says:

    great response! I love people w/ a sense of humor.

Leave a Reply

The Divergent Grad Nurse

Graduate Nursing Journey

world of feelings

A small attempt to express beauty of thoughts through writing 😊

Tales from Nursing and Life!

Welcome to the crazy world of Nursing!

Insomniac Writer!!!

Poems and Stories about everything that is life...and sometimes everything is what it takes to find a better you.

Buffalo Tom Peabody's Blog 1

The 9 lives of Buffalo Tom Peabody.

The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

Apricity All The Way

Living through art. Art-ing through life.

