Don't Curse the Nurse!

Sharing support with stories & humor

My First ODD Patient

on April 1, 2015

I had a patient last week that wouldn’t listen to anything I asked him to do.

“Sir, Everything needs to come off. Here’s your gown.”

Five minute later he is in bed with a bracelet, two rings, and baseball cap still on.

“Did you take the enema at home like your surgeon ordered at your pre- op visit?”

“No” He looks at me like I’m crazy to have asked him this. He had an anal fissure, possible fistula. I gave him a break on that one and took care of it.

Twenty minutes later.

“Hey nurse, I need to use the bathroom.”

“Sure,” I say. Let me help you with the side rail and your IV. Just remember to come right back here.”

Ten minutes later I am down the hall where the bathroom is and see him off to my right, sitting with several people and chatting up a storm. I approach him and explain that we need him to stay in his stretcher. (I also point out that he has a family member back by his bed. His response sounded more like a growl.

“I’ll be back when I’m ready.”

I found his diagnosis to be quite complementary with his personality.

Image via newkidscenter.com

Oppositional Defiant Disorder is considered by the American Psychiatric Association as being a mental condition that starts in the preschool years and can go into the teen years.

I guess some people never get treatment.


5 responses to “My First ODD Patient

  1. Hahaha. There is no amount of documented evidence that will convince me that ODD exists. You’re an asshole and the treatment is a punch in face. Next!

  2. Susan says:

    Uh,hmm, I was feeling little sympathy for the pain his anal fissure was causing him.

  3. I never heard of an adult with it. Interesting.

    • Susan says:

      Oh, a coworker casually mentioned that maybe he had it in addition to his medical issue. I made a calculated estimate on whether she was right.

Leave a Reply

SeventhRay 2035

Life, the Universe and Yourself

Salt & Coconuts

Adventure - Photography - Travel

Beth's Smilin' Vibes

Keepin' it fun, real and positive!

Diary of a Nursing Student

Hoping to share tips, advice, and experiences with my fellow nursing students!

The Godly Chic Diaries

Smiling • Writing • Dreaming

Down the Rabbit Hole with Shannon

A Photographic and Historical Travel Blog

The Ploughshares Blog

Sharing support with stories & humor

