Don't Curse the Nurse!

Sharing support with stories & humor

Coffee

on April 27, 2015

Image via positivefabulouswomen.com

Dr. Kate Allen, Executive Director of Science and Public Affairs at World Cancer Research Fund International, says “both coffee and coffee extracts have also been shown to reduce the expression of genes involved in inflammation, and the effects appear to be most pronounced in the liver. Specifically, the study determined that the risk of developing liver cancer might be reduced by approximately 14% if individuals consume one cup of coffee per day.”

Then there is this: (I looked it up to back up the reason for the post)

Four years ago Harvard put out study results about caffeine and its effect on depression. The research found the risk of depression to be 20% lower among women who drank four or more cups of caffeinated coffee than those who drank little or none.

I stopped drinking coffee four years ago when the little ticker started beating out of sync. My doctor thought it would make it worse.

Maybe I was just drinking crappy coffee? I mean, I stopped caffeine and I still have to take my Flecainide. I’m going to bring it up on my visit next week.


15 responses to “Coffee

  1. DM says:

    Good luck! I love, love love my coffee, used to have acid reflux from drinking too much of it, cut back, took the purple pill for a few months, got rid of the acid reflux (and purple pill) and am back in the saddle drinking as much as I want a day. There has got to be a way, you can sneak at least a little bit back into your routine. Keep me posted! DM

  2. Coffee is the one thing I will never give up. From everything I’ve read and heard it is full of benifits and has almost no downside. Love my morning coffee.

  3. Coffee really made my PTSD worse. I feel great since I quit and am happy that I don’t have to make and drink it all day to stay awake. I miss the smell, though, and the taste!

Leave a Reply

The Divergent Grad Nurse

Graduate Nursing Journey

world of feelings

A small attempt to express beauty of thoughts through writing 😊

Tales from Nursing and Life!

Welcome to the crazy world of Nursing!

Insomniac Writer!!!

Poems and Stories about everything that is life...and sometimes everything is what it takes to find a better you.

Buffalo Tom Peabody's Blog 1

The 9 lives of Buffalo Tom Peabody.

The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

Apricity All The Way

Living through art. Art-ing through life.

