Don't Curse the Nurse!

Sharing support with stories & humor

First Impressions

on April 28, 2015

 Image via alluniformwear.files.wordpress.com

Last week I was going to my first PNC meeting — that’s Professional Nurse Council. I brought edited notes from the subcommittee of which I’m part of. I put on my game face. I even wore my good scrubs — the $50 dollar ones, wrinkle free, tailor fit. And initially, I was glad I did.

The facilitator, a PACU nurse, and her sidekick, walked in looking immaculate. With their white monogrammed lab coats, they looked like they could be models for the cover of a Nursing magazine. They both carried notebooks, and wrapped around the edges of the notebooks I could see well-manicured fingernails. As the group leader sat down at my right, she surprised me with her first comment.

“I don’t have an agenda.”

I sat back in my chair, relaxed my shoulders, and took a second to note the hair extension she was sporting. With it clipped below her banded ponytail, waves of auburn hung down below her shoulder blades.

Uh-uh. That’s a hospital no-no. I’m taking off points!

She went on.

“But, we have Nurses Week coming soon, so there’s plenty to talk about.” Our fearless committee leader then pushed her notebook away and facilitated 45 minutes of conversation around food, ice cream, themes, and more food ideas.

I’ve been on the other side of this, meaning simply the recipient of these selected calories, lots of calories, calories that I don’t need or don’t have the self-discipline to say “No” to. I wanted to suggest passing out granola bars, but thought twice, these were the cool nurses in here.

When the meeting over and jobs delegated, I walked away with a better appreciation of the work that goes on behind the scenes, the conviction not to be intimidated by a committee’s title, and a little superiority complex because I would never dream of wearing my hair down at work.

Image via alluniformwear.files.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

The Fasting Nurse

The Daily Life of a Nurse that Regularly Doesn't Eat

NURSE RATCHED RN, BSN

Womens health, taboo topics, and everything in between. Do not be SILENCED!

Night Nursing Nuances

Ramblings of a Nocturnal Nurse

Allie Potts Writes

How to appreciate the everyday

In A Messy World

I live in a world of fantasy, so keep your reality away from me.

TheWordstruckSoul

A girl in search of happiness, and a little magic.

