Don't Curse the Nurse!

Sharing support with stories & humor

Working with Smurfs

on June 4, 2015

Fun moment between me and a patient this morning- Did the best I could to jot it down so I could share !

I’m facing her; putting on her monitors. She’s looking in the periphery behind me.

She says, “Did you notice that your Anesthesia doctors look like Smurfs?”

I turn and glance. “Um, what do you mean?” As soon as I say it, I understood what she was referring to. It was the designated color of their agency scrubs. The periwinkle blue matched the skin tone of the comic characters perfectly.

I place the last lead. “Well, they’re really smart Smurfs.”

She countered with, “You know Smurfs love to eat Sasparilla.”

Me, “Ours eat lazy nurses.”

She, “But I see they’re not wearing hats.”

Me, “They put a new one on every time they go back through that door on the corner.”

She, “They put on Phrygian hats?”

I pause. She’s got me there.

She. “The cartoon, it’s based on an old Belgian story. My dad was an illustrator. He talked about cartoons a lot. That’s what the hats were called.”

She had me working parts of my brain usually allowed to rest during work hours. I printed out her EKG and started to step away from the stretcher.

“Susan, who’s the Smurf coming this way?”

“That’s Papa Smurf. You don’t get to leave the pre-op mushroom until you speak with him.”
She raised her eyebrows and gave me a mischievous grin .

My last words: “He was on call last night. Don’t tell him he looks like a Smurf.”


17 responses to “Working with Smurfs

  1. very cute story he he!

  2. mikah257 says:

    Love the “Me, She” shorthand. It was very unobtrusive–I didn’t even notice it until I was through the piece!

  3. Tuesday Is The New Monday says:

    I called a short anesthesiologist a smurf once. Not because of his height but because his hat was a little pointy after he came down to our dept. from being in the OR. I felt like such a dumb ass. lol

  4. Cute. She needed the humor. I would love you to be my nurse. =)

    • Susan says:

      I’d make Jason your nurse then sit back and enjoy the banter 🙂
      No needles for him though! Just let him go over forms with you!

      • LOL!!! People have enjoyed our banter..when I guested over there. Eh. Sad how things turned out.

      • Susan says:

        Yes. It was. I hope he pops up someday and catches us up with what he’s doing.

      • What made you bring him up?

      • Susan says:

        I miss him. A lot.
        Family and some friends know I write, but none has inspired me to push myself, to speak up, louder if needed. Jason’s writing did that for me. I have a passion for nursing, the relationship with my daughter, and giving more than I take, but writing is such a lonely thing. And Jason, he was there every time I opened up WordPress. And he was never dithering about anything. He wrote boldly, his poetry fierce in it’s vulnerability. If someone can tell me that he is writing, still writing, I’ll be happy. I’ll miss him just as much, but I’ll be happy.
        You guys are family to me. I notice it when someone is gone for a while.

      • I don’t have a response worthy of this encomium – not that you’re looking for one. The book I’m on, The Art of Asking, has had me thinking a lot about what it is we do out here, and you all on my blog. I really appreciate your vignettes. It’s obvious you love your calling. Professionals like you who treat patients like human beings redeem the profession. Sorry, I don’t think very highly of the world of medicine. But when crisis hits, we need the Susans of this world. I have no doubt he will never stop writing. Supporters like you also kept him going, Susan.

        Xxx
        Diana

  5. Ellen Hawley says:

    I’ll never look at anyone in blue scrubs the same way again. Great post.

  6. Lol – brilliant story! 😀

Leave a Reply

The Divergent Grad Nurse

Graduate Nursing Journey

world of feelings

A small attempt to express beauty of thoughts through writing 😊

Tales from Nursing and Life!

Welcome to the crazy world of Nursing!

Insomniac Writer!!!

Poems and Stories about everything that is life...and sometimes everything is what it takes to find a better you.

Buffalo Tom Peabody's Blog 1

The 9 lives of Buffalo Tom Peabody.

The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

Apricity All The Way

Living through art. Art-ing through life.

