Don't Curse the Nurse!

Sharing support with stories & humor

Sure, Let Me Take Your Call This Weekend!

on July 7, 2015

Image via smithsonianmag.com

I have to laugh. There’s nothing else I can do but laugh.

“Ah, no, I don’t want to take call this weekend, I have plans, and such.”

Are you out of your #$%*! mind is the response I want to give when someone asks me, “Would you like to take my call this weekend?”

It kills me every time.

I do my share. As a matter of fact, with military like discipline, I put my name down to be on call every Saturday and Sunday every 5th weekend. It comes with the job. Here are the rules:

You don’t wander more than thirty minutes from the hospital, you don’t drink (okay, maybe one glass of wine, but that’s all, seriously), and you don’t do anything crazy like make an appointment to get your hair highlighted. You are guaranteed to be called in when they are halfway through putting the color on.

It’s just so silly — having a coworker approach me with a crazed clown-like smile and a “Hey Susan!” as if they found a prize they want to share.

Should I talk about my weekend plans ad nauseam? Make it well know that I am above average when it comes to financial stability. That seems so gauche.

Sarcasm is inevitable if I open my mouth, and I can’t do that based on principle alone. I am not a fan of sarcasm.

So, here’s what I’m going to do:

I’m going to cock my head sideways and furrow my brow. That’s what my dog would do when I chattered to her about everything except taking her outside.

I’m going to hold this pose and stare them down until they realize what a silly question it is.

Every 5th weekend is plenty.

Plenty.


12 responses to “Sure, Let Me Take Your Call This Weekend!

  1. Ellen Hawley says:

    Before she retired, my partner worked as a family therapist, and on some jobs she was on call. Not fun.

    • Susan says:

      eh, well… if it’s a collaborative effort and you are not inflicted with a team member with the silly notion she’s doing you a favor offering her call to you, then it’s alright, not great, but so so

  2. Reblogged this on HarsH ReaLiTy and commented:
    By the way would you like to take my call this weekend? 😉 -OM
    Note: Comments disabled here, please visit their blog.

  3. jsneese62 says:

    I have so much respect for nurses because even though the doctor diagnoses what is wrong and subscribes medication it is the nurses that care for me the rest of my time in the hospital. Your post made me think of being in the hospital just last month with pneumonia and Sepsis from which I came pretty close to dying from. My nurses we’re so amazing at helping to deal with how ill I was. They wiped my tears and my face when would cough so hard I would at times vomit.
    It is the care that men and women like you do that means the most because you all are always there and you all do give up so much in life for profession and to give the best care to men, women, and children that you may never see again. When I was released I hugged my nurse because everything she and all the rest did meant so much to me.
    So I don’t blame you for wanting to keep every moment you have off.
    I also want you to know there are people that appreciate what you do. You may not have ever taken care of me personally but I can still appreciate the job and sacrifice you do for others like me.

    • Susan says:

      Thank you for your kind words. Still tip your hat to the Docs’. At the end of the day, it all falls on their shoulders.

      • jsneese62 says:

        You are very welcome and you are right about the Doc’s. I love my pain management doctor he is very compassionate and not always pushing just drugs. Nurses need to be given kudos as well you all do the “dirty” work you have to smile when you don’t want too, clean up messes that are mostly disgusting, and yet take be yelled at and called names. On the third of last month of last month I was on deaths door and was so thankful for the nurse that wiped my tears and the ones after the first that did all the right things to my spirits and not dwell on having pneumonia so bad in my left lung it was barely working and Sepsis to boot. I tell you this because I feel you are a nurse like that and truly care about the patients under your care and I want you to know there are people that appreciate you and the work you do!

      • Susan says:

        Sepsis, geez, you are one tough lady! I hope that right now nothing is “flaring up”.

      • jsneese62 says:

        I have been told I am though before but it is more like stubborn and bull headed lol. I am still on oxygen doing good though. Never had Sepsis before and can say I never ever want it again. I got a pneumonia shot in the hospital.

  4. I’m very glad he’s back in your blogging life and even reblogged you. LOL.

Leave a Reply

Down the Rabbit Hole with Shannon

A Photographic and Historical Travel Blog

The Ploughshares Blog

Sharing support with stories & humor

The Divergent Grad Nurse

Graduate Nursing Journey

world of feelings

A small attempt to express beauty of thoughts through writing 😊

Tales from Nursing and Life!

We can conquer nurse burnout!

Insomniac Writer!!!

Poems and Stories about everything that is life...and sometimes everything is what it takes to find a better you.

Buffalo Tom Peabody's Blog 1

The 9 lives of Buffalo Tom Peabody.

