Don't Curse the Nurse!

Sharing support with stories & humor

Sleep Tight

on November 29, 2015

670px-cuddle-step-5

“If he could get in bed with me, I think I could fall asleep.”

I looked at her bright eyes and tried to figure out where all the Fentanyl I’d given her had gone. Per her sonogram, the stones in her ureters were gigantic!

She was so awake she could probably get up and run laps around the floor. And, no disrespect to my elders, she was old enough to get senior discounts. Fentanyl is supposed to circulate faster as you age.

“Uh, well, um, hmm. You are the only patient here in pre-op. And you’ve been waiting for quite some time. Uh, okay. Yeah, just scoot way over. You,” I waved to her ‘fiancée” to get in on the left side of the bed, away from the arm with the IV in it, “you get in from this side.”

Did any of you ever see He Said, She Said ?

There is a scene where Kevin Bacon has a dream that his In-laws are at the foot of the bed giving narrative to the ‘baby making’ efforts of he and his wife. Screen writers did a great job. It’s funny. In real life, watching two people snuggle up, it’s weird.

I pulled the curtain and turned around to see my two coworkers leering at me with squinted eyes.

“It’s approved cuddling. Whatever helps her sleep.”

Five minutes later, he walked past me at the nurses station.

“Everything okay?”

“Yes. She’s asleep. I’m going to go grab some dinner and watch the game on the T.V out front.

It figures.

But my patient is sleeping.

🙂


8 responses to “Sleep Tight

  1. Victo Dolore says:

    You are the best nurse, EVER! 🙂

  2. irtfyblog says:

    sometimes all it takes is the comfort of someone’s arms. 🙂 nice job.

  3. mreedmccall says:

    Loved this…and your choices in *how* to write it, to draw someone in, are awesome. I was hooked from the first two sentences.

  4. that crazy secretary says:

    You’re way cooler than the nurses I work with! 😉

Comments are closed.
Don't Curse the Nurse!

Sharing support with stories & humor

Mitch Teemley

The Power of Story

Selma

Finding the extra in the ordinary

myldrwithafrenchman

My LOVE for Paris & LDR with my Frenchie from 5000+ miles away... among other things ;-)

Linda Wastila

Writer. Professor. A Woman Who Gives A Damn.

Five O'Clock Shadow

by Todd Fulginiti