Don't Curse the Nurse!

Sharing support with stories & humor

Man Down — Doctor Way up on My List

on February 23, 2016

I sat outside the entrance on a bench with my patient in a wheelchair beside me. He was competent to stand and walk, but it was policy and I appreciated his compliance.

As a matter of fact, he was content to sit and enjoy what was an absolutely gorgeous afternoon. It was about seventy degrees, there were no clouds, and with a nerve block only four hours earlier, his arm wasn’t bothering him in the least.

He was sure that his wife was somewhere around. I was also, but not sure where. Neither was my patient’s surgeon.

Not wanting to alarm his patient or utilize security, this surgeon took it upon himself to walk out with us and then walk up and down the aisles of the parking lot until he found her. I knew it was his last surgery of the day, but it was still, to me, absolutely incredulous what he was doing. I know he wasn’t heading home after this unique adventure – office hours, inpatients to see, etc…

I sound like I’m sucking up, but I’m saying it anyway, physicians have very long days.

Anyhow…

He found my guy’s wife, stayed with us until she pulled the car around, then gave her his cell phone number and insisted she call once they got safely home.

Below is the quirky backstory:

Just as my patient completed getting dressed and I prepared to remove his IV, I gave his wife a head start to retrieve the car and pull it to the front door.  A minutes later, I heard “Man down in ASU.” That’s us?!

Sticking my head around the curtain, I saw that up by the door where our small sitting area was, two nurses knelt over a slumped figure. I recognized the pants color and the shoes. It was my patient’s wife.

In the next half hour, she was taken to ER where she climbed off the stretcher, refused treatment, and ended up AWOL as she did not return to us and wasn’t at the entrance when my Doc and I went to check.  She also wasn’t answering the overhead page.

Dr. Wonderful, that’s what I’m calling him now, stayed with me and my patient as we searched, then used his authority to get an ER nurse to come to us where we now sat inside the entrance.

The ever so kind ER nurse checked her vitals and Dr. Wonderful let the two of them now go home.  Sometimes people I know do the coolest things!


5 responses to “Man Down — Doctor Way up on My List

  1. Karen says:

    Is this dr single?

  2. Christy says:

    Love this story! Nice to hear about a doctor going the extra mile and really caring for his patient.

  3. Beth says:

    No doubt the compliant patient gave him reason to go the second mile. Doctors are human too and a non-compliant patient would make any surgeon want to get away as soon as possible. Shhh! Likely the non-compliant wife made him feel more sorry for the man.

Leave a Reply

San Giacomo's Corner

A Place to Connect with Readers

fresh scrubs

new grad. new nurse. new scrubs.

The Fasting Nurse

The Daily Life of a Nurse that Regularly Doesn't Eat

NURSE RATCHED RN, BSN

Womens health, taboo topics, and everything in between. Do not be SILENCED!

Night Nursing Nuances

Ramblings of a Nocturnal Nurse

Allie Potts Writes

How to appreciate the everyday

