Don't Curse the Nurse!

Sharing support with stories & humor

Taking Chances

on May 11, 2016

5-17-15SusanBartlettHeadshots-0488-2.jpgaward picture

You might make a change in your life at a point where everyone thinks you are supposed to settle in. Some will say, “What are you doing?” or “You’re going backwards!” Most will say “I don’t miss hospital work!”

And you do it anyway because you fought the feeling long enough that something was wrong and it wasn’t going to change until you did.

The belief that we made the right choice can slip in and out of grasp. A bad day that turns into two or three bad days in a row can make you wonder, Did I do the right thing? There may be moments when it looks like everyone else is having more fun than you.

Then validation comes, not just from kind-hearted patients and generous coworkers, but in a big way.

And you know that any uncertainty about the path you are on is never going to return.

*Recipient of Orlando Health Excellence in Nursing Award


21 responses to “Taking Chances

  1. Victo Dolore says:

    Oh, that is just too awesome! Congratulations. 🙂

  2. Lynn says:

    Congratulations to a wonderful person and nurse!

  3. Jeanine Zukerman says:

    Magnificent job Susan

  4. Nancy Riley says:

    I am so proud!

  5. Cindy says:

    Susan, I am proud to work side by side with you!

  6. Pat Chamberlain says:

    Congratulations Susan. Well deserved!

  7. LydiaA1614 says:

    Congratulations on your award. You spoke to my heart as I have returned to something I thought I gave up years ago and there have been doubts. However, I have someone who believes in me and that seems to be all I need.

    • Susan says:

      That’s wonderful! It’s a scary thing to do. The return to clinical nursing has made me more aware of my age ( a few aches and pains after a long week), but all in all, so enriching on so many levels. Thanks for sharing !

      • LydiaA1614 says:

        I went to culinary school at 46. It was the most difficult thing I have ever done emotionally and physically. and halfway through I was diagnosed with osteoarthritis. I was able to work at catering for about 5 years until the long days on my feet just got to be too much. So I understand the acheness. I have high regard for nurses.

  8. Congratulations on your award.
    As humble as we try to be, just doing our job for the satisfaction it brings, a bit of validation goes a long way in helping us to stay the course. Knowing our efforts are valued really makes a difference. No one wants to be where they do not feel appreciated. ☺

  9. Janet says:

    YAY! SUSAN … YOUR DA BEST!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

LifeEventsObservation

Cause every word matters.

Noble Doubt

a Serial Publication by Rosemary Castevet

The Diary Of A Muslim Girl

Dare ◦ To ◦ Live ◦ Your ◦ Legacy

Mostly Blogging

Practical solutions and established strategies to improve your blog. Suggestions that will make a difference.

Writing Dreamer

words and images by mk swanson

Multiple experienceS

a day in the life with multiple sclerosis

witty -> AyJ

Being Humorous

Embracing Authenticity

"Don't be ashamed of your story it will inspire others!"

deconstructingdoctor.com

a peek behind the curtain

