Don't Curse the Nurse!

Sharing support with stories & humor

Sometimes I’m not listening well.

on November 1, 2016

stomach

I thought I was slick

“What’cha have for breakfast?”

Sometimes the older patients have no regard for a NPO order (nothing by mouth).  They don’t want to hear about aspiration pneumonia. They just want a little nibble of something before they are rolled down to our department and prepped for surgery. Dietary can keep the tray out, but a savvy patient usually has saltines stashed somewhere.

“I had me some praaawrr’s” she said with a southern drawl I could never mimic.

I had to take a different angle so I could find out what “praaawrr’s” were.

“Did you eat something?”

“I sure did! Filled my belly right up.”

She gave me a smug smile.

Was she teasing me? I spun my head around, looking for the Anesthesiologist in charge. She’d give them a straight answer. In the meantime I was going to figure this out.

“What did you put in your belly?”

She cocked her head sideways, her eyes bright against her mahogany skin.

“Jesus!”

By this time, I could see out of the corner of my eye a coworker trying to suppress a giggle. I continued with hardheaded determination to get a straight answer.

“Is there anything else in there besides Jesus?”

Her face softened even more and she said soto vocce, “ No, Missee, Just Jesus, that’s all I need and that’s all I was told I could have this morning.”

Prayer – that’s what the word was she was saying!

Shame on me for giving her such a hard time.

 

 


2 responses to “Sometimes I’m not listening well.

  1. Stephanie Dersch says:

    Could it have been “prayers.”

Leave a Reply

LifeEventsObservation

Cause every word matters.

Noble Doubt

a Serial Publication by Rosemary Castevet

The Diary Of A Muslim Girl

Dare ◦ To ◦ Live ◦ Your ◦ Legacy

Mostly Blogging

Practical solutions and established strategies to improve your blog. Suggestions that will make a difference.

Writing Dreamer

words and images by mk swanson

Multiple experienceS

a day in the life with multiple sclerosis

witty -> AyJ

Being Humorous

Embracing Authenticity

"Don't be ashamed of your story it will inspire others!"

deconstructingdoctor.com

a peek behind the curtain

