Don't Curse the Nurse!

Sharing support with stories & humor

Dancing on the Dark Side

on March 7, 2017

darthYes, the title is a teaser.

This post is about running a meeting, my first, at work. My shame will pass. If you’ve read the title, it  means you opened the post, so I’m halfway to getting a comment – that warm fuzzy feeling of having connected with friends and my WordPress family will propel me forward…

My loyal subjects were members of different areas in surgical services. The Director of surgery, she came for the first twenty minutes as she had things to share from our JCAHO visit ( A visit from JCAHO is like having Darth Vader, Emperor Palpatine, Kylo Ren, Supreme leader Snork all come to see how things are going).

When she left, I put on my ‘Don’t Mess with Me, I’m in charge ‘ face. I got through half the agenda. Too many eyes were staring at me. Too many “Really, we’re away from our real jobs for this?” looks. Some appeared interested – I think it was a perfected practice. ( I know because I’ve done it)

See, I ran out of steam. I couldn’t pull it off. My eyes dropped to the paper in front of me. Thankfully, I had informative sheets to share from a meeting I attended a month earlier. A good five minutes was spent summarizing each.

After, two attendees from different departments discussed a solution regarding patient positioning for ERCP procedures. I beamed like a proud momma as they interacted in our little professional peer setting.

We adjourned the meeting and I walked away with the feeling that I could do this.

For another ten months.

Only ten months.

No more.


9 responses to “Dancing on the Dark Side

  1. mikah257 says:

    Meetings. A thing I do not miss, though it seems as if you pulled this one off perfectly!

    • Susan says:

      The past chairperson is a major Star Wars geek – the theme was a little bit of a homage to her responsibility in this role last year.

  2. Daria Kill says:

    Chairing a meeting … that no one wants to be at …

  3. Susan says:

    Pay scale is partially based on hospital committee involvement, hence th main motivator to attend.
    As an ice breaker, I started the meeting with a created crossword and a bottle of wine for whoever finished the puzzle first. Medical people make fun of these types of things because it’s doing patient care / actually helping people , that fills their cup, at least the people I know, that is.

  4. Jim says:

    wine at meetings is good. maybe start the meeting with a bottle of wine. that will loosed everyone up and create a lotta interest. 😉

  5. DM says:

    You can do this~! And keep bringing a bottle of wine. You will be their favorite 😉

  6. Beth says:

    You’re half way there!

Leave a Reply

The Fasting Nurse

The Daily Life of a Nurse that Regularly Doesn't Eat

NURSE RATCHED RN, BSN

Womens health, taboo topics, and everything in between. Do not be SILENCED!

Night Nursing Nuances

Ramblings of a Nocturnal Nurse

Allie Potts Writes

How to appreciate the everyday

In A Messy World

I live in a world of fantasy, so keep your reality away from me.

TheWordstruckSoul

A girl in search of happiness, and a little magic.

