Don't Curse the Nurse!

Sharing support with stories & humor

Beauty is Everywhere

on June 7, 2017

When the day ends, my route to the parking lot includes walking past the balcony area by the waiting room, turning left toward the North elevator, then down to the first floor. There is always music heard overhead. Once in a while there is live piano music.

Yes, we have a Baby Grand in the Atrium area. Our hospital is small, but not lacking in classy accessories. I’ve sometimes seen a volunteer on the bench, back sloped, playing a melody — eyes connecting with each key as stiff fingers press until chords ring out.

Today someone was at the piano. I heard a tune that was a mix between Barbara Streisand’s Memories and Chopin’s Opus 9. It was a mid-pace tempo with brushes on the C note.

I slowed my pace and moved closer to the overhang. I saw at the piano, not a regal looking volunteer — silver cap of hair, starched green vest, but a stocky man in his late forties,  five o’ clock shadow on his face — wearing a thinned tank top and faded jeans. His body swayed, following the fluid like movement of his arms.

Curious cat that I am, I hopped on the elevator right behind me, rode down, and walked over to get a closer look.

Flip-flopped feet pushed the pedals under the piano.

I asked him the name of the tune.

“It doesn’t have a title. I wrote it.”

My eyebrows shot up.

He continued.

“I’m a composer, or, uh, a wannabee composer.”

I picked up a coffee for him from the Starbucks behind me and asked him to keep playing.

He needs to keep playing


6 responses to “Beauty is Everywhere

  1. You’re right. Beauty IS everywhere, we just have to take more care to notice. Beautiful post. I’m looking forward to your future posts.

    Check out my blog if you get a chance!
    Have a good day!
 Mena from noirerewritten.com 🌷🌷🌷

  2. DM says:

    Yes!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. BETH says:

    I read an article recently about knowing what life is for and then being able to achieve it. Could be talking about this man.

Leave a Reply

Recovery Starts Here! A Gambling Free and Sober Blog~Sharing Hope In Recovery One Day At A Time.

"Your Gambling Recovery Starts Here" ~ By Author, Catherine Townsend-Lyon

Allie Potts Writes

How to appreciate the everyday

In A Messy World

I live in a world of fantasy, so keep your reality away from me.

TheWordstruckSoul

A girl in search of happiness, and a little magic.

LifeEventsObservation

Cause every word matters.

Noble Doubt

a Serial Publication by Rosemary Castevet

The Diary Of A Muslim Girl

Dare ◦ To ◦ Live ◦ Your ◦ Legacy

Mostly Blogging

Practical solutions and established strategies to improve your blog. Suggestions that will make a difference.

