Don't Curse the Nurse!

Sharing support with stories & humor

Anything Eating You?

on July 8, 2017

tooth

I got in my car. A good day. Checked my phone. No messages. A quick look in the mirror to see if the ‘After lunch’ swab of lipstick lasted.

Shoot!

Why? Why? Why? Why?

Why couldn’t someone say “You’ve got something between your teeth.”?

After my healthy spinach salad lunch, I had checked on another patient, talked to at least two coworkers, passed through the OR to PACU – smiling at saying “Hello” to several, and discharged a patient before clocking out. And there it was, the whole time, a green wedge of iron and fiber lodged between incisor #2 and #3.

Me, the magnanimous person I am, I have sucked up the awkwardness, discretely making anyone victim of this incident aware with a graceful like movement, my hand moving featherlike up and toward the side of my mouth, parting my lips only millimeters (not the dentist office mouth stretched open look), and with my index finger, pointing to an imaginary piece of food between my teeth. I’ve always gotten an appreciate “Oh, thank you!”

Would it have been that hard?

Now I know I’m on my own. It’s every nurse for themselves.

No more spinach

My iron tablets are sufficient.

And I’m picking up extra floss on the way home.

One more item to cram into the pockets of my scrubs.

 

 


10 responses to “Anything Eating You?

  1. Jim says:

    I’m sure they think far more of you other than “that nurse with something in her teeth”. pack the floss and continue having the salad. unless of course you would prefer a cheese burger instead. Mmmmmmm! cheeseburger!!! 🙂

    • Susan says:

      Oh my gosh! I’m dying for a cheeseburger, with bacon, and fries, and a chocolate milkshake.
      But , I have a little heart problem and a doctor that told me to loose some weight. I’m on a meal plan. My most exciting meals are the ones that have sweet potatoes in them.

  2. Alexis Rose says:

    Oh, Im laughing…but not at you! I think we’ve all been there. 😊

  3. LOL at least you ate healthy!

  4. DM says:

    It happened to me recently too. I wanted to thump the guys @ the lumberyard (who I deal with on a regularly basis) for not saying anything. Come on guys. 🙂 I feel your pain. Now brush it off and don’t look back..I know you already have 🙂 Just so you know… If I was one of your co-workers you can bet I would have told you. Have a great week! DM

Leave a Reply

SeventhRay 2035

Life, the Universe and Yourself

Salt & Coconuts

Adventure - Photography - Travel

Beth's Smilin' Vibes

Keepin' it fun, real and positive!

Diary of a Nursing Student

Hoping to share tips, advice, and experiences with my fellow nursing students!

The Godly Chic Diaries

Smiling • Writing • Dreaming

Down the Rabbit Hole with Shannon

A Photographic and Historical Travel Blog

The Ploughshares Blog

Sharing support with stories & humor

