Don't Curse the Nurse!

Sharing support with stories & humor

Don ‘t Quote Me

on July 25, 2017

“Just throw it in the bag.”

He had changed and was lying on the stretcher, covered up, hands behind his head, a casual smile on his face. His prosthetic stood in the small space between the stretcher and chairs. And by that, it stood between me and his IV pole.

Picking it up, I placed the casted form on the chair stepped past it, and hung his pre-op antibiotic. Turning, I grazed the chair with my knee and the prosthetic slid to the floor. It landed with a thud.

I took a quick breath in. He laughed.

“Don’t worry,” he said.

I gave him a wry smile. “You know, to me, it’s no different than if you had fallen.”

With a smile so big it showed his teeth, he responded, “Man is more than the sum of his parts!”

A quote by Martha Graham came to mind.

“A famous dancer once said ‘The body is a sacred garment’”

His face dropped.

“Oh goodness honey, you’ve gotten all serious on me.”

I blushed while taking his prosthesis and putting in a labeled bag next to his other things. Then a call light went off and pulled me away for ten minutes.

I heard that his surgeon was arriving early so I stepped to the keyboard to quickly enter his vitals and pre op med orders.

“Susan, I gotta use the restroom, like fast.”

A natural reflex, I lowered the bed while at the same time lowering his side rail.

“Hon, I don’t have a leg to stand on!!

I started to blubber apologies, but he cut me short with “I win. I win. Sacred garment…phhewwy!”

He was kind enough to not laugh too long at my expense!

Lesson learned. I will never quote when taking care of a patient!

 


3 responses to “Don ‘t Quote Me

  1. Jim says:

    ha ha! I like his come back. 🙂

  2. Susan says:

    (He had the kind of sense of humor that made me check for a ring on the finger) Yep, we do that once in a while 🙂

Leave a Reply

world of feelings

A small attempt to express beauty of thoughts through writing 😊

Poems and Stories

Poems and Stories about everything that is life...and sometimes everything is what it takes to find a better you.

Buffalo Tom Peabody's Blog 1

The 9 lives of Buffalo Tom Peabody.

The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

Apricity All The Way

Living through art. Art-ing through life.

San Giacomo's Corner

A Place to Connect with Readers

fresh scrubs

new grad. new nurse. new scrubs.

