Don't Curse the Nurse!

Sharing support with stories & humor

A Love Story

on July 30, 2017

“I went off on my first mission and when I returned, she was different. I flat out asked her what was up and she said she had found God.”

Backstory:

It was my turn to be on call for Saturday. We pre-op patients in Recovery (PACU) on the weekend. There is no sense in opening two departments for what we expect to be a three or four patient day.

He had a Veterans cap on. I nodded, tapped my finger to my forehead to acknowledge his service, and thanked him. He carried the conversation from there, sharing a summary of his two year spent living and fighting in Da Nang, South Vietnam.

When there was a lull in conversation, I asked him how long they’d been married.

His wife, moving little due to her hip fracture, lay with her hands folded together, a content smile on her face as if his presence removed the pain she was enduring.

My question prompted his response above. Below is more of what he shard:

“There was something different about her. I couldn’t put my finger on it; I just knew I had to have whatever it was she had. So, she explained it to me and the next Sunday morning, I put on my suit, held her hand real tight, and walked into her church. It was as scary as landing at Red Beach – I knew what I was facing there.”

I waited to hear more, but he, like most veteran I’ve met, got to the point fast.

“I worked hard and got God in my heart so I knew she and I would be together forever.”

____________________

Another one of those days I can’t believe I get paid to do this job.

 


7 responses to “A Love Story

  1. Victo Dolore says:

    People have some really fascinating stories of we just take the time to listen…. 🙂

    • Susan says:

      It’s one of the sweet things about pre-op nurses coming in for weekend call – there’s only one surgical team called – so we wait with the patients between cases. We’re kind of lucky that way.

  2. joey says:

    Really is a great story. The human interest aspects of your job must be incredible.

  3. Boss luffy says:

    Wow…interesting…you must have so many interesting stories and moments and incidents….love to read them all…excellent.

Leave a Reply

world of feelings

A small attempt to express beauty of thoughts through writing 😊

Poems and Stories

Poems and Stories about everything that is life...and sometimes everything is what it takes to find a better you.

Buffalo Tom Peabody's Blog 1

The 9 lives of Buffalo Tom Peabody.

The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

Apricity All The Way

Living through art. Art-ing through life.

San Giacomo's Corner

A Place to Connect with Readers

fresh scrubs

new grad. new nurse. new scrubs.

