Don't Curse the Nurse!

Sharing support with stories & humor

Irma

on September 6, 2017

She’s here. And I figure I should get some thoughts down before the power goes out. You don’t have to be in the eye of the hurricane to lose power in my neighborhood, a bad thunderstorm will do the trick.

There is a constant grey outside and a light sprinkle of rain that comes and goes. The humidity has lessened, but not with cool air, just still air, an ironic contrast to the activity at grocery stores, gas stations, and places like Costco and Sam’s Wholesale over the last three days.

Forty- eight hours ago, I had  two cans of tuna fish, three pitchers full of water, three Gatorades, a box of cereal, and a bag of coal for my grill. Then, driving home from work, I reflected on whether I was being too cavalier – deeming a post  hurricane electrical outage as an opportunity to get some reading done, do some stretching exercises.

I stopped at the grocery store.

There was an impulse to wander down the chip aisle and go to town. I mean, hey, they are non-perishables. Common sense won. I got some flavored water, trail mix, and thinking I could warm water using the grill, got a box of macaroni and cheese.

Once you gas up, stock up, and board up your windows, there is nothing you can do.  I did promise my daughter ( in New York) that I would minimize my driving this weekend. We’ve had other high category hurricanes come through here and it’s always a weird feeling for me, having a concrete understanding  that, beyond preparation and prayer, all you can do is wait until it’s over.

I am one of those ‘ If you work hard enough, you can fix it, overcome it, or accomplish it’. (This is, for me, a character flaw.) So, like everyone else, except those that had to relocate, I’ll wait for it to pass. It’s hard to relax, even knowing I’m not in one of the more vulnerable areas

Some things make you feel really small.

Irma’s one of them.


20 responses to “Irma

  1. Jim says:

    please be careful and stay safe.

  2. Susan says:

    You got it!
    Keeping myself inside for the last 24 hours has made me a little stir crazy!

  3. Nancy Riley says:

    I’ve been thinking and praying for all the Floridians I know.

  4. joey says:

    My thoughts and prayers continue to be with people in the hurricane. Good luck to you.

  5. Susan says:

    Thanks!
    Tornado warning in my county – sitting in the closet in beach chair doing some writing 👍

  6. Susan says:

    Sis, hope your friends in Melbourne are doing okay.

  7. Christy says:

    Wish I was there with you and others to wait out the storm. I remember Charley. We made lasagne, salad and chocolate cake! There were 7 or 8 of us there. The transformers were a beautiful teal when they got hit but the consequences for that beautiful moment was a power outage. Praying Irma is unremarkable as she passed through.

  8. Nurse Kelly says:

    Stay safe, Susan! Thinking of you! 😊

  9. Susan says:

    I can hear the transformers occasionally struggling.

  10. Beth says:

    I am not sure why I am having such a hard time commenting, but I have tried at least four if not more time to post this.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Four floods in my experience is four times too many. I remember the first one–just a simple dam breach in our area, but the trauma that followed seemed like a never ending nightmare. We had TWO babies in diapers, two older children–a teen and a pre-teen, my husband and me to provide for. We spent two weeks in a hotel on higher ground, but then the clean-up at home began…

    The neighbor who lived behind us died of cholera and then I got a lighter case of it. Our babies had bacillary dysentry, EH cysts, pneumonia, heat boils, and were so sick, sick, sick day after day. I used to pray for night to come so I could sleep and pray for morning to come so I would know who survived the night.

    We had our own well, but the water was contaminated because of the flooding. Fairly soon the city managed to send cooperation water to our overhead tanks, and then the queues for water began. I watched my neighbors and saw them let the pots down on their hands for the poor to drink, but I could not imagine making people bow for water. I told the ones who came to us to bring their pots and that I would fill them. For weeks that continued and finally I had to tell them to go to the public tap when I knew it was working again.

    And then there was the time we waded out with our children on our shoulders as the waters rose….

  11. Jim says:

    Are you and your family OK?

    • Beth says:

      Thanks, Susan. One topic of interest has been “Syndrome of Inappropriate Antidiuretic Hormone.” I’ve been wondering if that could cuse strokes.

      NIH I know pretty well through a relative who was treated there on experimental basis because he quailfied as one who had the large B-cell hmmmm…., forgot the name! How could I do that? Anyway the cancer was attached to the back of his heart and he was in his early twenties.

    • Beth says:

      Sorry I missed this until today. Yes, our family is fine. There were touch-n-go days for a while–especially for the babies.

  12. Beth says:

    I have a request if you don’t mind. Do you have any suggestions for how to find nursing research studies online? I need a nursing research study conducted by American nurses, (with a background, methodology, findings and conclusion) within the last five years. Google has nothing; DuckDuckGo has a bit more but not much. I have tried WebCrawler and there is a bit there, but nothing outstanding.

Leave a Reply

The Divergent Grad Nurse

Graduate Nursing Journey

world of feelings

A small attempt to express beauty of thoughts through writing 😊

Tales from Nursing and Life!

Welcome to the crazy world of Nursing!

Insomniac Writer!!!

Poems and Stories about everything that is life...and sometimes everything is what it takes to find a better you.

Buffalo Tom Peabody's Blog 1

The 9 lives of Buffalo Tom Peabody.

The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

Apricity All The Way

Living through art. Art-ing through life.

